Fucky Film Review!

Barton Fink

Posted by Web Manager on April 7, 2010

Joel Coen 1991

I just saw this for the first time and I am very happy about it. How could I not have seen this, you might ask. I’ll tell you: I was saving it, much like Henry Miller saved some Dostoevsky to read in his old age. Why did I like it so much? Mainly because it was like finding a missing arch between my two unconscious columns of contemporary American cinema – I mean real American cinema.  I mean Deep Americana, cotton candy, tornados, big cars, art deco, and the tribal chiefs and medicine men who don’t show up on CAT scans. I mean the Coens and David Lynch. Also, John Goodman is so awesome in this movie it makes up for KING RALPH.

Leave a Reply

 
