Fucky Film Review!

*** Apologies ***

Posted by Web Manager on March 10, 2010

I’m sorry I haven’t been posting.  Frankly, I’m surprised how many of you noticed (all 3 of you noticed). To make matters worse I have a backlog of about 30 films I’ve watched over these past three months:

THE WIRE (ENTIRE SERIES) – Impossibly, lives up to and surpasses the hype, takes over your life.  I called it early: it’s all about Valchek.


LONESOME JIM – Surprisingly unsurprising ending.



BLACK SNAKE MOAN – Christina Ricci, thin, topless and possessed by sex demons.  Recipe for success.




WHATEVER WORKS – Nowhere near as bad as people said it’d be. Show some respect for Woody.



THE BEAT MY HEART SKIPPED – Watch it with your dad.  Now I want to see THE PROPHET.



AN EDUCATION – Not that big a deal, but entertaining. Molina makes it worthwhile.  Also thanks but we don’t need another Audrey Tautou.



PRECIOUS – Based on the novel Push by Sapphire. Awesome editing sequence from the subway to the stars to the church.



DEATH AND THE MAIDEN – Weird and intense and awesome, typical of Polanski in that era.




IT’S COMPLICATED – Not that complicated.  Just bad.



SURE THING – Glorious.




HURT LOCKER – Perfect aside from the scene in the supermarket.



THE WHITE RIBBON – Mesmerizing, never boring.



CHOP SHOP – Mesmerizing, kind of boring.



MAN ON WIRE – Mesmerizing, heart breaking, beautiful.



FUNNY PEOPLE – Would have been better as a movie for comedians instead of about comedians for everyone else.



THE MESSENGER – Acting movie. Woody Harrelson’s serious side. Ben Foster annoys me.



NEW MOON – Don’t ask.




EDGE OF LOVE – Dylan Thomas made to look like an idiot. Sienna Miller made to look irresistible.



THROUGH THE GLASS DARKLY – Fucking Bergman. The play the kids put on stands out.



WOMEN ON THE VERGE OF A NERVOUS BREAKDOWN – Great. See it again after BROKEN EMBRACES.



SWEENY TODD – Even so, they sing too much.



LET THE RIGHT ONE IN – Best vampire movie ever.




MAD MEN – SEASON 2 – They’re losing me but I hear Season 3 is better.



FANTASTIC MR. FOX – Funny, and kind of poignant, but also kind of empty.  I like how a fox is just a fox but don’t get why a fox’s wife is a door mat.



NEXT DAY AIR – Hard to find something nice to say about this movie. For some reason I thought it would be a little better than it was.



ROLE MODELS – A few laugh out loud moments.



THE HANGOVER – No laugh out loud moments.




CRAZY HEART – I saw it in the theater. Five minutes after Colin Farrell appeared on screen, my father leaned over to my mother and me and said, “that’s Colin Firth.”

Leave a Reply

 
