Fucky Film Review!

Insect Woman

Posted by Web Manager on August 31, 2009

Shohei Imamura 1963

I was planning to see as many movies as I could in a row with WOMAN in the title, but this one stopped me dead in my tracks. When it first started I thought it might be a medieval folk story – it’s not. But it was hard to tell the difference in rural Japan in the 1920’s. The film tracks her life against the backdrop of the changing times in Japan over the first half of the twentieth century. It’s full of metaphors went clear over my head, but I caught as catch can.  I mean I’m not a complete idiot – I know a little about Japanese history. Like that they invented the camcorder. Powerful imagery compliments an increasingly harsh story line that leaves you feeling a little worn out. This was also one of the films Scorcese mentioned in the discussion on L’Eclisse that I saw on youtube.

Leave a Reply

 
