Fucky Film Review!

Burn After Reading

Posted by Web Manager on March 5, 2009

Joel Coen and Ethan Coen 2008

I hate when people say, oh, but it was so well-made.  It’s the fucking Coen brothers – what do you think? I don’t know. I purposefully avoided seeing this in the theater, and then began to regret it, and almost went to see it a couple of times, but in the end I didn’t, and then the other night I rented it on DVD. It reminded me a little of their forgettable movie INTOLERABLE CRUELTY in that glamorous Hollywood tongue-in-cheek kind of way – very 1950’s. But it makes sense that the Coens make movies like this from time to time, as part of their career-spanning homage to Americana. I love when Brad Pitt reads a few lines of Malkovich’s memoir out loud and pronounces “rapport” phonetically. Was Brad Pitt good in this? Nobody seems to know. I don’t think it matters. I liked him best in JOHNNY SUEDE.

2 Responses to “Burn After Reading”

  1. MC Aaron said

    I like at the party when Malkovich says to Clooney, “So you misspoke.”

    And Jan Svede is the best.

  2. zimchee said

    I liked him best in SNATCH. I’ll bet my woman will enjoy JOHNNY SUEDE!

Leave a Reply

 
