Fucky Film Review!

Bottle Rocket

Posted by Web Manager on December 9, 2008

Wes Anderson 1996

I first saw BOTTLE ROCKET probably around the same time most people saw it, which was soon after seeing Wes Anderson’s second film RUSHMORE. I’m not going to get into the whole Wes Anderson discussion right now, or maybe ever.  I liked BOTTLE ROCKET the first time I saw it and like it even better now, after several views in the interim. I liked Tak Kubota playing a character named “Rowboat.” I also thought it was interesting that little of the style and color palettes that have become staples in Mr. Anderson’s subsequent films were apparent in BOTTLE ROCKET, with the notable exception of the motel, especially its interiors (perfect red walls). One thing that drove me crazy on this viewing was the close-up shot of the bumper button on the pinball machine early in the film. I think I’ve seen it somewhere before, possibly in something I watched very recently, like THE VERDICT, or WHO’S THAT KNOCKING AT MY DOOR, or maybe a classic french film — I even did a quick search on the internets but no tomatoes.

Leave a Reply

 
