Fucky Film Review!

Death Proof

Posted by Web Manager on November 19, 2008

Quentin Tarantino 2007

I admit to being a pretentious ass from time to time, but whenever I see someone’s nose scrunch up at the name Tarantino I have to suppress a passing desire to slap them.  Yes maybe there is something annoying about QT the Celebrity.  But QT the Filmmaker rules.  And as much as I like his early work – like the screenplay he wrote for TRUE ROMANCE, and his first two major films RESERVOIR DOGS and PULP FICTION – it was KILL BILL (Vols I and II) where he really hit his stride as a giant.  DEATH PROOF is more along the KILL BILL lines than those of his previous work; pastiche and homage in his own original language.  I think DEATH PROOF is also the most linear movie he’s made to date. The two parts are so different and yet so perfectly complimentary – kind of like BARRY LYNDON goes to Texas.  I’m in Austin Mode baby.

Fucky Film Review Film of the Month!

2 Responses to “Death Proof”

  1. MC Aaron said

    I agree with what you say about QT not getting his complete due as a filmmaker by snobs. But I cannot stand by and allow you to claim that he hit his stride with Kill Bill. Pulp Fiction is an absolute masterpiece. It is so good that it’s considered a classic and is still underrated. Pulp Fiction changed the game. It’s basically QT schooling his contemporaries.

    “Oh shit, I just shot Marvin in the face.” Classic.

  2. kozakfilms said

    MCA we are not in disagreement. PULP FICTION is a masterpiece and it did change the game, whatever that means. But QT hit HIS stride with KILL BILL. I think KILL BILL is closer to the real QT, to who he really wants to be, than PULP FICTION. And those are my two cents.

Leave a Reply

 
